actions in benin

untitled-5c-20i_34451612.png

Benin is part of the 20 poorest countries in the world, with a GDP per capita of $709. The limited financial resources available to the Beninese State limit the impact of the social policies implemented in favour of the most vulnerable, first and foremost street children, who are marginalized from society.

In this context was born International Citizen of the Streets Benin, in 2011, a local partner association of ICS. In 7 years, the local structure has supported nearly 700 street children in the Sonagnon Centre in Cotonou, offering them an individual rehabilitation programme including access to the centre, healthcare, suitable food and hygiene.

Beyond the essential needs, ICSB also offers a weekly planning of activities including sports, educational activities as well as a psycho-social support provided by a psychologist. The planning also includes a personalised follow-up by a social worker as well as family mediation.

In 2019, ICS Benin welcomed about 180 children from 7 to 18 years old. Within the framework of autonomisation implemented between International Citizen of the Streets and its local partners, the Food Bank project has grown significantly. Thanks to the contribution of its partner "The International Chorba", ICS Benin now benefits from a system of 'collection - storage - redistribution' allowing the food autonomy of the centre.

 

The objective for 2020 is now to take the association one step further, by achieving the project of a Reception and Learning Centre (RLC) that will accommodate full-time (night and day) about forty street children from 15 to 18 years old. Professional workshops will be offered to ensure their insertion into the world of work and, in the long term, to enable them to become financially independent. 

This project will respond in particular to Sustainable Development Goal number 5: "Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls". Indeed, this centre will be adapted to welcome about twenty young girls.

programme benin

Le Bénin fait partie des 20 pays les plus pauvres au monde, avec un PIB par habitant de 709$. Le peu de ressources financières dont dispose l'Etat béninois limite la portée des politiques sociales mises en oeuvre en faveur des plus vulnérables, et en premier lieu des enfants des rues, qui sont mis au ban de la société.


Dans ce contexte est née Citoyen des Rues Bénin, en 2011, association locale partenaire de CDRI. En 7 ans, la structure locale a accompagné près de 700 enfants des rues au sein du Foyer Sonagnon de Cotonou, leur proposant un parcours de réinsertion individuel comprenant l'accès au foyer d'accueil de jour, aux soins, à une alimentation adaptée et à l'hygiène.


Au delà des besoins essentiels, CDRB met également en oeuvre un planning d'activités hebdomadaire comprenant des activités sportives, ludo-éducatives ainsi qu'un suivi psycho-social matérialisé par des temps d'écoute effectués par une psychologue. Le planning inclut également un suivi personnalisé effectué par une assistante sociale ainsi que des médiations familiales.

En 2019, CDR Bénin a accueilli environ 180 enfants âgés de 7 à 18 ans. Dans le cadre des logiques d'autonomisation mises en oeuvre entre Citoyen des Rues International et ses partenaires locaux, le projet de Banque alimentaire a connu un développement important. Grâce à l'apport de son partenaire "La Chorba Internationale", CDR Bénin bénéficie désormais d'un système de collecte - stockage - redistribution permettant l'autonomie alimentaire du foyer.

 

L'objectif pour 2020 est désormais de faire passer un palier à l'association, en faisant aboutir le projet de Centre d'Accompagnement et d'Apprentissage (CAA) qui hébergera à temps plein (nuit et jour) une quarantaine d'enfants des rues âgés de 15 et 18 ans. Des formations professionnelles seront proposées pour assurer leur insertion dans le monde du travail et à terme, leur permettre de devenir financièrement indépendants. 

Ce projet répondra notamment à l'Objectif de Développement Durable numéro 5 : "Réaliser l'égalité des sexes et autonomiser toutes les femmes et les filles". En effet, ce centre sera adapté à la prise en charge d'une vingtaine de jeunes filles. 

contact
Réseaux sociaux

CITOYEN DES RUES INTERNATIONAL

MDA 5 RUE PERREE

75003 PARIS

© 2018 par Citoyen des Rues International

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône