our centres facing covid-19

MEASURES PUT IN PLACE AGAINST THE EPIDEMIC 

Covid-19, also known as the Coronavirus, is hitting the entire planet. 

Focus on a pandemic that has changed the lifestyle of our local teams

and the functioning of our homes. 

 
 

WHAT IS THE CURRENT SITUATION IN BENIN ? 23/07

The country currently has about 1 690  people officially infected and 34 virus-related deaths

AND WHAT ABOUT THE SHELTER SONAGNON ?

Our team is aware of the importance of the situation and the rigorous measures to be put in place in order to best preserve the children we work with.

In particular, two members took part in a training course on "Humanitarian action and the response of professionals to psychosocial vulnerability" with the Abomey-Calavide Local Committee and the Beninese Red Cross, and one of them also attended another training course on "Basic knowledge and preventive measures for workers". 

WHAT ARRANGEMENTS ARE IN PLACE ?

In order to fight effectively against the virus, the home has equipped itself with an appropriate device for systematic and regular hand washing with soap and water by all users of the centre (children, employees and visitors). 

Our members on site are also working on a new system of systematic change of clothing and garment washing for residents, as well as obtaining masks, gloves and hydro-alcoholic gels for the protection of all.

HOW CAN WE ADAPT THE DAILY LIFE ?

We know that such a situation requires the involvement of everyone. Therefore, we decided to set up a weekly educational workshop with the children and the employees of the centre in order to foster communication and encourage the children to share their feelings and questions. 

In addition, a poster campaign within the home and its surroundings in order to best communicate the awareness messages and the barrier gestures to adopt will be put in place as well as a reinforcement of our vigilance in order to correctly apply the instructions in terms of body and clothing hygiene given to the children.

HOW CAN YOU HELP FROM HOME? 

Citoyen des Rues International expresses all its support to the shelter Sonagnon and its local team which is showing its reactivity in these complicated times. We also address our support and encouragement to our homes in Guinea and Niger


Of course, our efforts need a lot of support in order to be carried out successfully. Together we have the weapons to defeat the virus. We therefore invite you to make a donation (eligible for tax reductions) via our website or by contacting us at contact@citoyendesrues.com 

Together, let's protect street children ! 

 

WHAT IS THE CURRENT SITUATION IN GUINEA ? 23/07

The country has 6 747 people infected and 41 deaths related to the virus. 

 

AND WHAT ABOUT THE SHELTER OF HOPE ?

Since the canteen was set up , our team has made hygiene one of its priorities. The children are therefore sensitized daily to compensate their lack of knowledge in this matter. Indeed, many of them were not aware of the sanitary risk generated by the local sanitary conditions. 

In the canteen, each child must wash his or her hands before and after each meal, a ritual that has become even more important since the appearance of the virus. In 2016, Guinea was facing the Ebola scourge and the country has not forgotten the consequences. 

WHAT ARRANGEMENTS ARE IN PLACE ?

Awareness among the children is increasing. At the heart of the discussions: the modes of transmission of the COVID-19 virus and the prevention of the epidemic.

The local company Guinea Games, which has generously renewed the rental of the home for this year 2020, has also made a large donation of sanitary kits and food. We thank them and Mariama Daff, the shelter godmother, for their unfailing support!  Our shelter also received a donation from the NGO COVID-19 Solidarity. A warm thank you to the team !

HOW CAN WE ADAPT THE DAILY LIFE ?

A new strategy has been put in place to maintain our activities. Thus we have divided the children into three groups of twenty who come to the shelter in turn (one group per day) in order to reduce groupings. 

HOW CAN YOU HELP FROM HOME? 

We show all our support and encouragement to our Shelter of Hope, which is doing everything possible to maintain contact with the children in the best possible conditions.

As you will have understood, our home still lacks the means to deal with the epidemic and to protect itself properly. 

To make a donation, go here or to contact@citoyensdesrues.com

 

Together, let's protect vulnerable populations. 

APPLY BARRIER GESTURES 

Wash your hands very regularly 

Cough or sneeze into your elbow or into a tissue

Use a disposable tissue and discard it afterwards.
Salute without touching your hand, keeping your distance ​

 

WHAT IS THE CURRENT SITUATION IN NIGER ? 23/07

Niger, for its part, now has 1 122 confirmed cases and 69 deaths.


AND WHAT ABOUT THE SHELTER OF HOPE MANDELA ?

The children, all safe and sound, are currently confined within the Shelter of Hope Mandela where they are welcomed. Follow-up and contact with the children continues on the street, but less frequently, given the restrictions. In particular, night rounds are interrupted. 

On the good news side, two new children who arrived at the shelter have been able to find a stable environment. The first child has chosen to stay at the shelter and has enrolled in an apprenticeship in car mechanics. The second has been reintegrated into his family, with his uncle who lives in a neighbourhood near Niamey. 

WHAT ARRANGEMENTS ARE IN PLACE ?

For the young people in apprenticeship, our team decided to place them all in quarantine for a week. At the end of this week, no symptoms having appeared, the young people returned to work but with much more health precautions however. 
 

To make a donation to finance health equipment and ensure the safety of children, go here or at contact@citoyensdesrues.com 

Together, let us protect vulnerable populations.

nos foyers face au covid-19

LES MESURES MISES EN PLACE CONTRE L’ÉPIDÉMIE 

La Covid-19 aussi appelée Coronavirus, frappe toute la planète. 

Zoom sur une pandémie qui a bouleversé le mode de vie de nos équipes locales

et le fonctionnement de nos foyers. 

 
 

QUELLE EST LA SITUATION ACTUELLE AU BÉNIN ? Au 23/07

Le pays compte environ 1 690 personnes officiellement contaminées et 34 décès liés au virus.

COMMENT SE PROTÈGE NOTRE FOYER SONAGNON ?

Notre équipe est consciente de l’importance de la situation et des mesures rigoureuses à mettre en place afin de préserver au mieux les enfants que nous côtoyons. Deux membres ont notamment participé à une formation "Humanitaire et réponse des professionnels à la vulnérabilité psychosociale" avec le Comité local Abomey-Calavide la Croix-Rouge Béninoise et l'un d'eux à également suivi une autre formation "Connaissances de base et mesures de prévention pour intervenants".

QUELS DISPOSITIFS SONT MIS EN PLACE ? 

Afin de lutter efficacement contre le virus, le foyer s’est équipé d’un dispositif idoine de lavage systématique et régulier des mains à l’eau et au savon par tous les usagers du centre (enfants, employés et visiteurs). 

Nos membres présents sur place travaillent également à la mise en place d’un nouveau système de rechange systématique d’habits et de lavage des tenues pour les pensionnaires, ainsi qu’à obtenir des masques, des gants et des gels hydro-alcooliques pour la protection de tous.

COMMENT ADAPTER LE QUOTIDIEN ?

Nous savons qu’une telle situation demande une implication de la part de tous. Ainsi, nous avons décidé de mettre en place un atelier éducatif hebdomadaire avec les enfants et les employés du centre afin de favoriser la communication et d’encourager les enfants à partager leurs ressentis et leurs questions. 

D’autre part, une campagne d’affichage au sein du foyer et de ses alentours afin de communiquer au mieux les messages de sensibilisation et les gestes barrière à adopter sera mise en place ainsi qu’un renforcement de notre vigilance afin de faire appliquer correctement les instructions au niveau de l’hygiène corporelle et vestimentaire données aux enfants.

COMMENT AIDER DEPUIS CHEZ VOUS ?

Citoyen des Rues International adresse tout son soutien au Foyer Sonagnon et à son équipe locale qui fait preuve de réactivité en ces temps compliqués.

Bien entendu, nos efforts ont largement besoin d’être soutenus afin de pouvoir être menés à bien. Ensemble nous avons les armes pour vaincre le virus. Nous vous invitons donc à faire un don (éligible aux réductions d’impôts)  via notre site internet ou en nous contactant à l’adresse contact@citoyendesrues.com 

Ensemble, protégeons les enfants des rues ! 

 

 

QUELLE EST LA SITUATION ACTUELLE EN GUINÉE ? Au 23/07

Actuellement, le pays compte 6 747 personnes officiellement contaminées et 41 décès liés au virus.

COMMENT SE PROTÈGE NOTRE FOYER DE L'ESPOIR ?

Depuis la mise en place de la cantine, notre équipe a fait de l’hygiène une de ces priorités.

Les enfants sont donc quotidiennement sensibilisés pour pallier leur manque de connaissances en la matière. En effet, beaucoup d’entre eux n’étaient pas conscients du risque sanitaire engendré par les conditions sanitaires locales. 
Au sein de la cantine, chaque enfant doit se laver les mains avant et après chaque repas, un rituel qui a redoublé d’importance depuis l’apparition du virus. Rappelons qu’en 2016, la Guinée faisait face au fléau Ebola et le pays n’en a pas oublié les séquelles.

QUELS DISPOSITIFS SONT MIS EN PLACE ?  

La sensibilisation auprès des enfants s’intensifie. Au coeur des discussions : les modes de transmission du virus COVID-19 et la prévention de l’épidémie. 
La société locale Guinée Games, qui a généreusement renouvelé la location du foyer  pour cette année 2020, a également fait un important don de kits sanitaires et de denrées alimentaires. Nous les remercions ainsi que Mariama Daff, marraine du foyer, pour leur soutien sans failles ! Notre équipe a également reçu un don de l'ONG Solidarité COVID-19, un grand merci à eux également. 

COMMENT ADAPTER LE QUOTIDIEN ?

Une nouvelle stratégie a été mise en place pour maintenir nos activités. Ainsi nous avons réparti les enfants en trois groupes de vingt qui viennent au foyer à tour de rôle (un groupe par jour) afin de diminuer les regroupements. 

COMMENT AIDER DEPUIS CHEZ VOUS ?

Nous manifestons tout notre soutien et nos encouragements à notre foyer de l’espoir qui met tout en place pour pouvoir maintenir le contact avec les enfants dans les meilleures conditions.

Vous l’aurez compris, notre foyer manque encore de moyens afin de pouvoir faire face à l’épidémie et se protéger correctement. 

Pour faire un don, rendez-vous ici ou à l’adresse contact@citoyensdesrues.com

Ensemble, protégeons les populations vulnérables. 

APPLIQUER LES GESTES BARRIÈRES

Se laver les mains très régulièrement 

Tousser ou éternuer dans son coude ou dans un mouchoir

Utiliser un mouchoir à usage unique et le jeter ensuite

Saluer sans se toucher la main, garder ses distances 

 

QUELLE EST LA SITUATION ACTUELLE AU NIGER ? Au 23/07

Le Niger, quant à lui, compte désormais 1 122 cas confirmés et 69 décès.

QUELLE EST LA SITUATION AU SEIN DU FOYER ESPOIR MANDELA ?

Les enfants, tous sains et saufs, sont actuellement confinés au sein même du Foyer Espoir Mandela où ils sont accueillis. Le suivi et le contact avec les enfants continuent dans la rue mais cependant de manière moins fréquente, compte tenu des restrictions. Les maraudes nocturnes sont notamment interrompues. 

Du côté des bonnes nouvelles, deux nouveaux enfants arrivés au foyer ont pu retrouver un cadre stable. Le premier a notamment choisi de rester au foyer et s’est inscrit en apprentissage mécanique automobile. Le second a été réinséré dans sa famille, chez son oncle qui réside dans un quartier proche de Niamey. 

QUELS DISPOSITIFS SONT MIS EN PLACE ?

Pour les jeunes en apprentissage, notre équipe a décidé de tous les placer une semaine en quarantaine. À l’issue de cette semaine, aucun symptôme ne s’étant déclaré, les jeunes ont repris le travail mais avec beaucoup plus de précautions sanitaires cependant. 

Pour faire un don afin de financer du matériel sanitaire et assurer la sécurité des enfants, 

rendez-vous ici ou à l’adresse contact@citoyensdesrues.com

Ensemble, protégeons les populations vulnérables.

contact
Réseaux sociaux

CITOYEN DES RUES INTERNATIONAL

MDA 5 RUE PERREE

75003 PARIS

© 2018 par Citoyen des Rues International

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône